open.mp forum
Coding Pawn: From Useless to Y_Less. - Printable Version

+ open.mp forum (https://forum.open.mp)
-- Forum: SA-MP (https://forum.open.mp/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
--- Forum: Tutorials (https://forum.open.mp/forumdisplay.php?fid=37)
--- Thread: Coding Pawn: From Useless to Y_Less. (/showthread.php?tid=38)

Coding Pawn: From Useless to Y_Less. - Y_Less - 2019-04-12

I was comissioned to write a detailed curriculum for a complete beginner to learn pawn with. This is a combination of links to existing tutorials and wholly new information. It is not a tutorial in itself, but a collection of information to read and learn. Depending what you want to learn, you might not even need everything, thus various sections try to list their dependencies so you don't start reading about something without first having read the parts it relies on.

Unfortunately the forums don't support markdown (and forumfmt doesn't QUITE support the BB code used here), so it is hosted on github:

https://github.com/Y-Less/pawn-curriculum

RE: Coding Pawn: From Useless to Y_Less. - dakyskye - 2019-04-12

Awesome.

RE: Coding Pawn: From Useless to Y_Less. - spacemud - 2019-04-12

This is great! Do you have any plans to make it collaborative? A up to date guide for beginners (and even intermediate) scripters would be a fantastic resource.

RE: Coding Pawn: From Useless to Y_Less. - Y_Less - 2019-04-12

Sure. Make a pull request.

RE: Coding Pawn: From Useless to Y_Less. - Freaksken - 2019-04-12

The reason I got into PAWN/SAMP was due to a thread on the Dutch GTAforums which translates to [Tutorial] Create?Your Own Server. If you really want new people to get started with SA-MP scripting, that is imo a better approach than just pointing people to a PAWN language guide, because they will see immediate results in their server, which will motivate them better to keep going.