100.00%
Second code
0%
2 vote(s)
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[Pawn] Optimization in pawno.
Lightbulb 
Hello. I am still new at pawno. Could you tell me which one is more efficient from these code? These code has the same purpose.

First Code

Code:
forward test();

public test();

{

? ? new rows;

? ? for(new i = 0; i < rows; i) {

? ? ? ? new string[128];

? ? ? ? format(string, sizeof string, "%d is printed.", i);

? ? ? ? SendClientMessage(0, 0xFFFFFFFF, string);

? ? }

}

Second Code

Code:
forward test();

public test();

{

? ? new rows;

? ? new string[128];

? ? for(new i = 0; i < rows; i) {

? ? ? ? format(string, sizeof string, "%d is printed.", i);

? ? ? ? SendClientMessage(0, 0xFFFFFFFF, string);

? ? }

}
I am no backend expert but the second method seems to be more efficient, since that doesn't create a new valuable every single time.

Although this code wouldn't display anything, since rows are equal to 0.
Check out Desolation Roleplay, where zombie AI and scavenging is bothered by player bandits!

Code:
forward test();

public test();

{

new

rows,

string[128];

for(new i = 0; i < rows; i) {

format(string, sizeof string, "%d is printed.", i);

SendClientMessage(0, 0xFFFFFFFF, string);

}

}
Using Pawn.CMD?

If you're doing so, this is the very first sign that you absolutely shouldn't utilize your all powerful P-Code knowledge in any of the scripting discussion topics.
Let's ignore the misplaced semicolon after public test() in both cases.

You don't have to worry about optimizations like these runtime wise. From https://github.com/pawn-lang/YSI-Include...eatures.md

Quote:Modern computers are also very fast. They literally do milliards of things a second. Timing something that takes only a few thousand instructions is such a small time as to be almost unnoticable - the time can get lost in noise.