• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[Plugin] Using MySQL R41-4
Hello guys, I programmed some samp servers a long time ago and recently I started programming again just for fun.

However, I always programmed using a rescue system in '.ini' and I am creating a gamemode in mysql and I would like to clarify some doubts on the subject.

1 - Is it recommended and necessary to use mysql in the samp? What are its advantages over '.ini' rescue systems?

2 - In relation to saving data from the server and players in mysql, it is interesting to save the data of the player only when the player leaves the server, or to save this data for each operation that the player does (example: the player buys an item and then the game already saves that data)

Thanks for the attention of those who read this topic xD!

Sorry for my bad English, I used google translator for some things.
1) It's not necessary to use MySQL. In a lot of cases it's not even the best solution. How you store the data depends on the data you are storing, how frequently it will be accessed and modified, and the required access to that data. For example, will this data need to be fetched, updated, or displayed from another source; like a forum or control panel?

All these questions should be evaluated. Player data is usually stored in a database for its speed on large data sets and overall flexibility. However if you want to store server configuration settings, that would be better suited in a configuration text file.

2) This also depends on the data. Something that will update frequently (kills, deaths, etc) should be stored in memory and written to the database later. Everything else (passwords, security questions, etc) should be updated immediately.