• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Worth it?
Question 
Hello everyone,

A quick intro - I've been around the community since 2009, playing and developing. Maybe some of you would know me as CLT or Cesar Lauren Tom...
I came around this open.mp project and was intrigued, I see there's some activity and 29k players daily, most of them are ofc playing on the russian servers. 

So my question is - is it worth starting a roleplay server nowdays? I've a gm lying on my GitHub for years and it's ready to run.

When talking about is it worth it or not, I don't mean money aspects. Just if there's a chance to still build a stable community that keeps enjoying the game. 

Looking forward to your answers...

BR,
Arty
It certainly is worth starting a roleplay server.  I started playing on SA:MP back in the summer of 2007 and that was quite a long time ago now.  I could type for pages here about my experiences and memories but there's not much activity here on this forum and not many people will read these posts, most people don't care really.  Message boards and forums are generally quieter now than back then so you might want to try out the Open.MP Discord server as there's plenty of discussion going on there.

Going back to your question, I will simplify my story but from 2007 to 2009 I played on a roleplay server and I eventually left with a few players to create our own server.  In the beginning I had no programming experience so I couldn't contribute any code but I did provide ideas, content and eventually I managed the server team.  Those were great days, we had a small community of 30 to 40 players but shared some fantastic memories, many hilarious nights, lots of fighting but we made plenty of friendships too - many are gone forever but even now some of us are still around but I think I'm probably the only one really still playing or coding for SA:MP and it's been a regular interest/hobby of mine for many years.